Driving home a little while ago, a man appeared from behind some traffic on foot. A large man, clad all in green...green cheap-ass shorts, green t-shirt. He did not look over his shoulder to see what traffic was coming his way...which would be me, in my little SUV, minding my own business driving at a normal rate of speed.
He was flailing his arms around in a manner which relayed to me that he was either A) not quite the possessor of a full deck, B) not quite as mentally capable as I (and I am assuming as you) or C) in the throes of a Thorazine Shuffle. He only looked in front of him and not behind, or he would have seen me coming.
Quite suddenly, he began wandering fatly across his side of the road into mine. I was able to slow down fast enough to not squeal any brakes or even throw myself or my passenger into our seatbelts. But even when he turned and saw me slamming the brakes on, he KEPT WALKING. With a vacant look on his face, too.
Quite suddenly, he began wandering fatly across his side of the road into mine. I was able to slow down fast enough to not squeal any brakes or even throw myself or my passenger into our seatbelts. But even when he turned and saw me slamming the brakes on, he KEPT WALKING. With a vacant look on his face, too.
Once I was at a full stop, he pulled up just short of walking into the side of my vehicle. He just kind of looked at me, blankly. My mouth was hanging open, because I could not believe what an idiot this man must be. Once I was sure he wasn't moving into my path anymore, I took off. I didn't blast the horn at him or anything. I was amazed. It was just so surreal.